Homeschooling Multiple Ages

img_2453

Many homeschool families are balancing many ages and grades with their children. This is something that had me incredibly nervous this year. Chloe is doing 1st grade, Addi is doing pre-k, and Harper is making messes. πŸ˜‰ Now, we certainly are not the first family to face this, but I wanted to share some of the simple things that have worked for us so far.

  1. Combine where you canΒ This is by far the biggest help. There are many things that Chloe is learning that I know Addi can learn at the same time. Especially in the beginning, when most grades are simply reviewing what was learned the previous year. If I am making copies of worksheets that I know Addi would enjoy, I make sure to make doubles.(Please do this legally. Our workbooks are not allowed to be copied, but the worksheets in the teacher books are.) I can teach a subject to both girls at the same time, and it is so much easier. They really enjoy it, too!
  2. Take turns Both of my girls are at ages where they cannot read. Chloe is learning right now, so it’s getting a little easier with her. Sometimes, they both need my attention on different things.Β I try to plan and give Chloe work that she can do independently while I do work with Addi that requires more attention. It helps that Addi’s work is much shorter, so I get one on one time with Chloe later.
  3. Let your younger children get bored If you start off with constant entertainment, they will expect that every day. The best thing you can do for yourself, and your children, is to let them be. Make them figure out a way to entertain themselves. Harper mostly looks at books, plays with puzzles, and pretends she is a puppy while school work is happening. It is so much easier than her expecting me to do special projects with her each day.
  4. Make it fun Learning should be fun! If you make sure that your children are engaged and actively learning, things will go so much better. This also helps keep all ages entertained at once. We shake things up and use random objects in the place of our counting blocks for Math. Since it is autumn (my favorite) we are doing a lot of themed science work. I honestly cannot wait to do some pumpkin guts exploring.
  5. Take brain breaks I have found that taking a few breaks to get out the wiggles and refresh seem to really help. My girls have quite the bond, and they really love all getting a chance to play together in the middle of our school day. This also helps Chloe to not feel jealous that her sisters are playing without her.

There have already been many days where I tell my husband that I want to quit. Homeschooling is hard. It’s stressful and a lot of work. But, it is so worth it. I have seen Chloe grow so much already. I see Addi learning more and more. Harper watches and I can see her wheels turning. I get a very unique view as a homeschooling mom. I know that it is not for everyone, and it may not stay for us. Right now, it’s a blessing.

What are some of your tips for keeping younger siblings happy?

Leave a Reply

