Home Sweet Home

I am so afraid to say it, because it feels too good to be true. I am sitting in the homeschooling space of our new home. We were completely blessed with just enough helpers over the weekend to move our furniture with us. They even re-built furniture here at the new place! Two people built our bed. Scott and another friend built Harper’s crib. We had purchased the IKEA Kura bunk for the girls a few months ago and were able to build it the day before the official move date. It was such a huge blessing to know that we all had a place to lay our tired heads that night.

I cannot even form the words right now….

Last Christmas, Scott found out that he was loosing his job. We didn’t know what we were going to do. We couldn’t stay in the house we were in. We lived in a really depressed town where people struggled to find jobs. We are a five person family and were about to be without a home. We are blessed to have parents who both offered to let us stay with them while we got back on our feet. God provided a new job just in time and we were able to move from our home in Michigan to a small three bedroom apartment. It was definitely not ideal, but it kept us warm and safe.

Now, nine months later, we are blessed to be renting a beautiful three bedroom home with a fenced in yard and a fireplace. It all feels so surreal. I walk in the door and it feels like home. My older girls– especially Addi– have really struggled with our practically cross-country move. They were so excited to get to pick out a paint color for their new room and have said how happy they are to be here. They have a back yard to play in where I don’t have to worry about them running into a busy street.

We have made a lot of progress in unpacking our things, but we still have a long ways to go. I believe we have to much “stuff” and we are going to sort through and get rid of even more. I’m not sure where it all comes from since I had two huge garage sales before we moved from Michigan, and I have continued selling things on B/S/T sites.

I thought I would give a little sneak peak of Harper’s sweet bedroom. Her nursery rhyme theme has been my favorite. So many pieces in her room were made by family members. The room was already painted the perfect shade of blue. I love walking in here, but I cannot believe that she is TWO and no longer a little newborn.

dresser // Table & Chairs (on mega sale)// activity cube // dollhouse (similar) // farm // swaddles // Tissue box cover // pink truck

Our lives are such a testimony to the goodness of God. This time last year was an incredibly painful time for our family. It was a struggle that felt endless and impossible. Many tears were cried. I can see how God used it all for His glory and we are so thankful for His provision and protection.

I hope that you all have a wonderful week enjoying the cooler weather and changing leaves.

Leave a Reply

