Uncategorized

Our Daily Schedule

Hello, Monday. You always come around no matter how unwanted you are. We are getting back into our daily grind here. The past several weeks have been crazy with moving, traveling, and sickness. It’s been survival mode. Today, I was determined to get back to “normal” as much as possible. I am exhausted and run down from everything that has taken place recently. But, I feel really blessed through it all.

Our typical day starts with me in bed. I am not a morning person. Scott is amazing. He gets up with the girls and always takes care of breakfast while I sleep in. I don’t deserve it, but am incredibly grateful for it. He even makes me coffee before he leaves! Scott leaves for work around 8:15 or so. The girls are usually playing or watching a show at this time. I have been trying to make a conscious effort to eat breakfast in the morning; a REAL breakfast. I am a big fan of overnight oats, but haven’t been taking the time to make them the night before. Lately, I have been making eggs and hash browns. I also love Wild Friends peanut butter (they have other nuts and nut-free butters also!), and mix it in my yogurt or put it on fruit. Yum!

We start our school day around 9:30. I like starting a little later because it gives everyone a chance to really be awake and get some energy out. Currently, our school day only takes a few hours. We do Bible, Language, History & Geography, Math, and Science. I try to incorporate learning into everyday activities as well, so learning happens all day. We do a 20-30 minute brain break in the middle to get some wiggles out.

img_2812

Lunch happens at noon every day. We usually do simple things like PB & J, macaroni and cheese, and hot dogs. I hate hot dogs, but my kids love them. I usually buy the Turkey hot dogs from Aldi so I can feel slightly better about it.. I eat leftovers or skip lunch because I forget to eat; like today. Oops.

At 1, I lay Harper down for her nap. She usually naps for 2 hours (lately, it has been more since she is recovering from being sick) and the big girls do quiet time. I try to have them do table activities like playing with legos. Saving the legos as a special “quiet time” activity helps them to stay engaged for that whole time. They usually end up fighting and I end up wanting to pull my hair out, if I am being honest.

Harper wakes up around 3, and the day resumes. The girls play and I try to clean up around the house. I hate when Scott comes home to a disaster zone after working hard all day. I try to make sure the counters and table are clean, the dishes are done, and there aren’t too many toys everywhere. Scott gets off of work at 4:30, and we all rejoice. I love that we have a garage now, because the girls get so excited to HEAR that daddy is home.

This is where our days get random. Every other Monday, Scott has a staff meeting in the evening. Tuesdays are dance class days. Wednesdays we are at the church by 5 and don’t get home until 9. Thursdays I usually can breathe a sigh of relief. Fridays are Scott’s day off, but sometimes there are youth activities. I try to make all doctors appointments for Fridays, and that is such a blessing to not have to take all three kids by myself. It doesn’t always work that way though, so we just go with the flow.

I try to have dinner ready by 5 every evening. With our schedules changing, it doesn’t always happen. I am a big fan of home-cooked meals. I grew up with my mom cooking every evening and eating as a family. I want my kids to have those memories as well. I recruit our crock-pot on days that we have a busy schedule.

Scott and I work together to clean up after dinner a lot of times while the girls go play. We try to just relax and get through the evening until bedtime at 8. Everyone brushes their teeth and goes potty. We pray as a family and give hugs and kisses every night. Sometimes we read a book or two.

img_3686

Once the girls are in bed Scott and I zone out and start drooling. Just kidding. I think. We try to catch up on shows that we like. Usually we are in and out of the girls’ room telling them to be quiet and go to sleep.

Being a stay-at-home mom is a challenge in many ways. I cannot speak on being a working mom, because I don’t have that experience. I imagine that both are equally as hard, just in different ways. No competing allowed here!

I feel really blessed that I get to be at home with my girls all day. I have so many memories– good and bad– and haven’t missed  “first” anything. I realize how blessed I am. I love it and wouldn’t have it any other way.

Does anyone have any tips for becoming a morning person? I really HATE not being a morning person. I feel like I could be so much more productive if I woke up early!

Leave a Reply

