Keeping Platinum/Silver Hair Healthy

I’m sure you love that super grainy/terrible lighting photo. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I have always had pretty light hair. Around 5 years ago, I had my hair dyed for the first time. I wanted something different, but didn’t want it cut. I had my friend put dark lowlights in my hair, and I LOVED it. When I went for a touch up, I went even darker, and loved it. I quickly realized that there was no way to keep up with the cost of hair coloring when I had a newborn and one year old at home. I went back to a light blonde color (and had it chopped off!). The problem with coloring your hair is that you can never get it quite right when you want to go back. You can always see when things start growing out. ย I would end up dying it and trying to match it, and it would always not work out.

A few months ago, I took this picture to a salon and had them do this balayage color on my hair. I figured that it would make the grow out look more intentional and I could deal with it more. Imagine my surprise when I discovered that my hair was WHITE. Like, Elsa’s white hair. Our bathroom lighting made it look like I had orange roots and light blue hair. I freaked out. My straightener broke a couple days later to make matters worse. I wanted to wear a hat and immediately have it re-colored. Finances weren’t going to allow that.ย Once I saw it in natural light, I started to love it. It also helps that I went to church two days after the coloring and got SO many genuine compliments. A kind word goes a long way!! I really love it now that it’s mellowed out some more. I still have silver hair, but a cool silver. haha!

If you didn’t know- going platinum or silver is super damaging on your hair; even on my once perfectly healthy hair. My ends felt like straw and I worried about the color getting brassy over time. I thought I would share some tips that have helped me care for my hair.

  1. Wash your hair as little as possible. I typically go 3-4 days between washes, and use dry shampoo in between. If you wash your hair daily and are trying to go to less, start skipping one day for a week or two. Then, move to two days, etc. You have to get the oil production adjusted. Washing your hair strips it of its natural oils, and your body tries to replenish these. You will need to allow time for your body to adjust, or your hair is going to get really oily on you.
  2. Apply Argan oil. I always apply this to the ends of my ย hair after towel drying my ย hair. I also use it again before straightening or curling my hair. I have really thick and long hair, so I can use a quarter size amount and not have greasy hair. If you have thinner hair, you will want to use less. These bottles are a little pricey, but they last for quite a while since you don’t need to use a lot.
  3. Purple shampoo.ย This combats that brassiness that I was talking about. I typically use it once a week, or every other week, just to avoid my hair getting to that brassy point. It’s also fun because your head looks purple while it sits on your hair. I really love Bed Head products, but I hate that this shampoo is called DUMB blonde. Maybe it’s just the years of hearing the oh-so-funny dumb blonde jokes. (News flash- they aren’t funny.) This would work for any blonde- not just platinum.
  4. Heat Style as little as possible.ย I almost never blow dry my hair. I shower at night because my hair is SO thick that it takes an hour to blow dry. Ain’t nobody got time for that. I try to only use a flat iron once a week. The rest of the time I am rocking a top knot. I also want to add that it is 100% worth it to invest in a GOOD flat iron. I have a Chi after always using cheap ones. My hair isn’t getting yanked out. My hair doesn’t feel fried. I only have to run it through a section of hair ONCE instead of 3 times. I really can’t say enough good things about it. Now, if you don’t use a flat iron very often, it’s probably not a big deal. Once a week for me, and it makes a huge difference.
  5. Use a heat protector. If you use a heat tool to style your hair, it is important to use something to protect it from the heat. I don’t currently use this, but I have in the past and loved it. This is another one of those products that you don’t use a lot of. I had a SAMPLE size bottle last me for MONTHS. I imagine that a full size bottle would last a year.

I am not a hair expert. I am sure that you can find even better tips elsewhere on the WWW. I am just sharing what I have done, and what has made the biggest difference for me. Just sticking to this list has helped me to get my hair back on track from the straw that it felt like when I came home from having it dyed.

Would you add anything to this list? I’m always looking for new tips to keep my hair healthy!

Leave a Reply

