The Santa Dilemma

I’m going to say something very unpopular.

We do not teach our children that Santa is real. *GASP* I also don’t teach the tooth fairy or the easter bunny. *bigger gasp*

untitled-2

Our reasoning is simply that it is something that we felt really convicted about. If God tells you to do something, you do it. If He tells you not to do something, you don’t do it. There is not more to it. I believe that, as a Christian, everything should be approached in prayer.

I grew up believing in Santa for an embarrassingly long amount of time(like, double digit age). I was pretty heartbroken when I found out he wasn’t real. I don’t hold a grudge against my parents, nor did I have trust issues after. I just grew up, and that is natural. Our decision is not some religious crusade to “take back Christmas”. Christmas is ours and what we make it.

My flesh wants to teach Santa because it was fun; plus EVERYONE asks my kids if Santa is coming. “What did Santa bring you?” It would be easier to teach Santa.

Yes, I know that kids only get to be kids for a short amount of time. Let them be little. You know what? I do let them be little. I let them play and explore. I let them sit on my lap while we read stories. They use their imaginations WONDERFULLY without the Santa myth.  It irritates me that people assume that I don’t let my kids be little because I don’t go out of my way to pretend that Santa is real.

I have never understood why people get SO worked up if you don’t teach Santa. Why is it such a hot-button issue?

I am not writing this to change anyone’s mind. To be honest, I really don’t care if you do or don’t teach your children about Santa Clause. I have told my children time and time again that they never shout that Santa isn’t real if someone talks about him, because not all children know. However, you can never control what children say; I pray that they never ruin that for any child.

I have been asked before “don’t you feel like they are missing out on the magic of Christmas?” The answer to that is no, not one bit. We still watch the fun Christmas movies. We buy Christmas jammies and wear them all day on Christmas. We drive around looking at Christmas lights. Christmas presents appear under the tree after the girls have gone to sleep and their stockings are full. We bake Christmas cookies. We make countdown chains and anxiously await the day. There is no magic lost. We can make Christmas “magical” without Santa.

Currently, Chloe is insisting that Santa is real. So, I am navigating this struggle. I am teaching her the truth. Because of how many people ask questions, she is questioning. That is natural and normal. It is frustrating to me, because I know that she would not be questioning as much if it weren’t for everyone around her asking “Is Santa coming??” But, I am not angry at all. It is just something that we have to work through.

This is the first year that we have really had a lot of questions from Chloe and Addi about it. I imagine that people whose children believe in Santa get a lot of questions around this age also. My sister told me about this book, which I think will help to clear things up in their minds about Saint Nicholas and where Santa came from. I know there are many others that are probably good. If you have a favorite, let me know in the comments!!

I remember reading this post years ago, and nodding the whole time. I appreciated her approach so much!

When I hit publish on this post, I am going to continue praying that everyone is respectful. That no matter what side of it you are on, you will remain loving. I pray that we are not harassed about our decision.. a decision that we prayed long and hard about. We are doing the best that we can for our family, as I know you are, too. I am not casting judgment, and I hope that my words were filled with love.

Merry Christmas Eve Eve Eve! (Is that right?) 3 more sleeps!!! I am so grateful to all of you who take the time to read my little space on the internet. It means more than you know!!

 

Leave a Reply

