Uncategorized

‘Twas the Friday before Christmas

First of all, I want to say THANK YOU so much to everyone who responded to my last post. I fully braced myself for a lot of hate. So far, I’ve received (mostly) the exact opposite. I’ve found that many of us don’t “do Santa”. Even those who do were kind and gracious. The support was overwhelming. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Blogging is sort of amazing. My blog is small. I started blogging just to document our life with a new baby when Chloe was born; more to share with family members. I sort of document time with Addi as a baby, but I was buried in two under two life. When I found out I was pregnant with Harper, I started writing weekly posts documenting the pregnancy. It is so cool to see how things have grown. I still don’t have a massive audience, and that is ok. But, I had views from the 5 different countries yesterday. All over the world. Many of those are missionary friends. Isn’t it amazing how this world wide web can unite us all?!

I wanted to share with you our homemade chocolate syrup recipe. I’m not a fan of unnecessary junk added to my food, so I love finding alternatives. This isn’t a clean recipe, but I am wanting to try it out with honey and carob powder to see how it would taste.

Here you go:

1 cup of sugar
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 cup water
dash of salt
1 tsp vanilla

Put all of your dry ingredients into a pot. (You will want a pot MUCH larger than you think you need.) Whisk the dry ingredients. Add water and whisk again. Bring the mixture to a boil. This is where your extra large pot comes in, as the mixture rises an absurd amount. Reduce the heat and let simmer for at least one minute.

The picture above is how much a doubled recipe makes. This syrup replaces the chocolate syrup that you buy from the store. It is more runny, so be prepared for that, but tastes SO good. I’m not going to tell you how much to add to your milk, because I tend to overdo it big time! haha!! We don’t have this in our house all the time, but it does make a fun treat!! Who doesn’t love chocolate milk?!

I hope that you all have a very Merry Christmas surrounded by all of your loved ones!!

signature2

Leave a Reply

