Goal Check-In and Rearranging

We are on day 5 of the new year. How are you doing on your resolutions/goals/words for 2017?

I have failed. I have failed big time. My word is Awake.

I have a child who has extreme emotions. She has not been sleeping nearly enough lately, and she literally spends the whole morning scream/crying over various things. It has driven me to the brink of insanity, and I’m not proud of that. Yesterday, I said that I was going to run away from home. That is not a mama that is 100% in it.

I am trying.

Homeschooling has become a big stress in life right now. Chloe does not like sitting down to do school. Then when we talk through that, she can’t concentrate. She has a chatterbox sister, and their desks were next to each other. I knew something had to change so that we could get back to enjoying it again, because it is worth it. It is wonderful to see those lightbulb moments first-hand.

This is my current situation.

Our smoke detector is open and the battery is out because I open the oven and it goes off. We need to move it to a better location. Don’t worry, battery is out of reach and we have more throughout the house. There are a million books all over the counter. There is stuff on the floor. Stuff everywhere. It could be worse.

My desk (white)  used to be in that corner where Chloe’s desk (tan with red lamp) is. I had a bookshelf crammed in the corner and no where to store my Teacher’s Guide books. It was frustrating because there’s not a cozy reading spot here for us to snuggle up and read books. I am moving the bookshelf into the living room near a cozy chair. I also moved what I think used to be a TV stand into this space. I can now put the printer on it and have it able to be used any time. It also stores my laminator and teacher’s guide books.

I feel like I have a little more room to spread out my things. Chloe walked in (while it was in this state) and said it was “soo cool”. Addi told me that I’m moving the whole house. haha! For now, I think that this will work out really well for us. We sort of just threw things together when we moved in, left town for a week, came back and cleaned up puke, and then decorated for Christmas. I didn’t really have much time to think about it. We just dove in and got back to school as soon as possible. It just now feels like we are settling in to what normalcy will be in this home.

Are you a room re-arranger or can you leave things alone? ha!

Happy Thursday! We are almost to the weekend!!!

 

Leave a Reply

