I Decided to Stop..

Our pastor has started the new year with a series called “My Story”. How awesome for the new year, right?! Sunday was “I decided to stop”.

What is something in your life that you need to stop in order to move FORWARD in your relationship with Jesus?

stop

I heard my answer loud and clear while praying for God to reveal things that I needed to stop.

Complaining. Self-Pity. Ungratefulness.

Ouch.

Honestly, my favorite Sunday sermons are the ones that step on my toes. It hurts, obviously. But, growth is painful. If you disagree, I’ll let you deal with Chloe in the middle of the night when she wakes up screaming from growing pains. Growth hurts. Being challenged isn’t easy. Having your flaws pointed out can be embarrassing. We all want to be doing everything right.

My word for the year is “awake”… living a fully awake life and not missing out on anything. I have already majorly failed when I spend time complaining and feeling sorry for myself. I am missing out when I feel ungrateful in the small things.

Isn’t it amazing how God works? I prayed for God to reveal a “word” or theme for 2017. However, I wasn’t really sure how to follow through with it once it was revealed. God really used the words spoken on Sunday to reaffirm my theme for this year. I am encouraged and uplifted in knowing how to keep going forward and reach goals. I don’t want to be the same person at the end of the year as I am now. Not at all.

It’s not going to be an easy journey. Nothing is.

Truly, I LOVE our church. I love being challenged and encouraged week after week. I love that it is ok to walk in the doors and not be okay. I love that I know that people are TRULY praying for my family and I. I feel so unbelievably blessed to be a part of this community.

 

What is something that you need to stop? What is standing in the way of you growing in your relationship with Jesus? 

Leave a Reply

