Uncategorized

Homeschool Update

It’s been a while since I posted about how our homeschooling is going; besides just our room. Since I am new to it all, and I know many other mamas are as well, I want to keep writing and being open and honest about it all. Mostly I want to remain this way so that other moms don’t feel alone in how they are feeling. I have felt every emotion over the last couple of years of doing this.

HONESTLY- Homeschooling has been a struggle right now. Finding balance between 1st grade, Pre-K, and trying to not completely ignore Harper has been difficult. Chloe fights me to start school. Addi wants to fly through every paper, so she is constantly talking. Harper likes to ram books into my elbows and yell “read me” (read to me) over and over again when I am trying to work with Chloe on something. She has reached a really ornery stage, and it is frustrating to say the least.

So, here is how I am FEELING.

Overwhelmed. Isolated.

Please understand that I also believe that it is completely rewarding and I LOVE seeing my children learn. I love that they are not being forced to learn in only one way. Kids don’t fit into boxes, and I breaks my heart to see them forced into boxes in schools. Every child learns differently, and I love being able to change things as needed.

But, it is lonely. It is hard. I feel like a little island floating at sea all by myself with no support whatsoever.

Through a friend (actually a couple friends) I was able to get in touch with some Classical Conversations leaders. Talking on the phone with them was so refreshing. I realized that I am not the only mom who wants to collapse into a pile of tears.

We went to an open house and got to sit in the classrooms. I am really thankful that Scott was able to come with us because I really wanted him to get to see what it is all about also. He went with Chloe and I went with Addi. 

It was AMAZING. Addi was really shy at first, but eventually came out of her shell. The kids were all so welcoming and sweet. The moms were amazing. I was able to see that there are a lot of families in our community that are doing this homeschooling thing. They do fine arts, latin, history, science… so much! The kids can do science labs together when they are older. They get to pack a lunch and have recess together. It really is incredible.

Both girls had a blast in their classes. They both were saying it was great and asked if we could go back. We probably wouldn’t start until the fall if we can work it out, but I want to go back. haha!

There was such a great sense of community and support. The one thing that I hear constantly from the many MANY people who are opposed to us homeschooling is that our kids won’t be socialized properly. They’ll miss out on too much. CC offers all of that for them. I also learned about many other groups in our area that do P.E., field trips, and so much more.

If you are feeling led to homeschool your children, don’t be intimidated by it. You are not alone. Sometimes you have to do some searching, but there are so many programs and communities available for you. Classical Conversations has a place where you can search for meetings in your area on their website.

I know without a doubt that God has called me to homeschool my children. I KNOW IT. I believe it. I get discouraged. I want to quit. It would be easier to send them to school, obviously. But, I cannot quit just because it gets hard. I have prayed and prayed and cried out to God about this.

Am I nervous about next year (teaching Kindergarten and 2nd grade)? yes!

I know that every mom who has walked this road felt these same emotions. It takes time to figure out what works best for your family. It will be no different for us.

 

 

**I feel the need to state (even though I should not have to) that I absolutely do not feel that homeschooling is right for every family. I in no way judge anyone who sends their kids to public/private/whatever schools. You do God is calling you and your family to do.**

Leave a Reply

