The Burden of Fear

Scott and I are once again finding ourselves in a season of great unknown. I have allowed fear to creep in. I have felt frustrated at once again being here with the ground feeling unsteady under my feet. I have felt all of the emotions. Fear has been one of the greatest.

What is going to happen? God, why won’t you clue us in a LITTLE? You called us to obedience and we have obeyed. Can’t we know something?

I was talking with a friend last night who is pregnant. We were discussing all of the fears that come along with pregnancy; especially when you have suffered a loss before. I remembered when Scott was preaching and said that the burden of fear is not ours to carry. We were never meant to carry fear with us.

The burden of fear is not mine to carry. 

I need to repeat that to myself over and over again. Just like the little engine that could kept telling himself “I think I can. I think I can.”

Can I also just say how difficult and painful obedience can be. There are times when I obey God, but I do so while kicking and screaming like a child.

God works everything together for our good. So, why do I have to fear? There is nothing to fear. He has never once let us down. Yes, it’s going to hurt. It already hurts. But, it is for our good. It is for their good.

romans_8_28--close-800x800
Image Source

If you are reading this and fearing what comes next for you, don’t. God has this in His hands. He called us to it, and He will bring us through it. If you are sad, I am with you. If you are excited to see what God does, I am there.

If you are in a season of change and trial, don’t ever forget that God is always a step (or several steps) ahead. He is never surprised. He knows what is coming around the corner. We have nothing to fear.

signature 2

 

Leave a Reply

