Uncategorized

A Letter to my Mom

Dear Mom,

We obviously need more pictures together. I guess that is what we get when we combine two people who hate being in front of the camera.

I cannot even figure out where to start. You mean so much to me that I can’t seem to put it into words. My mind is racing in a thousand directions with all that I want to say. Hopefully I can make some sense of it.

I am so thankful that God gave me you to be my mom for all of these years. You are the perfect example of strength and courage. You face all of life’s hardships head on without fear.  Your positive attitude is contagious, and I always leave a conversation with you feeling much better. We laugh until we cry- flaring nostrils and all. 😉

Not only have you fought alongside Dad, but you have fought your own hard battles that too often go unrecognized. You fought through immeasurable amounts of pain. You are a fighter, and I don’t think you are told that often enough. You are inspiring.

As a kid, if my birthday and mother’s day fell on the same day, you would always refuse to celebrate your day. That is just one small example of your selflessness. You are one of the most selfless people that I know. You always put your needs and wants behind everyone else. {I do hope that you look out for you also.} I hope that someone is taking some time to spoil you.

I am so thankful for a mom who took the time to teach me so many life skills. You prepared me for real life; even though that didn’t stop me from crying every day when I went off to college.

You have never hesitated to drop everything to be by my side or on the phone when I needed you. I guess I will always need my mom though. I am sure you know that by the amount of phone calls you get with me asking question after question.

I know that I never fully appreciated the sacrifices that you made every day for me; for all of us. It wasn’t until I became a mother that I realized the depth of your love for us. It wasn’t until I became a mother that I realized how much you really did sacrifice.

You were nurse, taxi driver, maid, teacher, chef, and on and on and on. You came to every performance I ever had. I wonder if you ever got a weekend to yourself between the three of us and show choir/band/track/cross country… and the early years of cheerleading. You supported us through all of it.

Mom, I could never express my gratitude. You mean the world to me. I love you so much. Thank you for being my mama.

Love,
Ashley

 

If you are grieving this Mother’s Day- over the loss of a child or the loss of your mother- know that I hold you in my prayers. You are not forgotten. This video is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

