adult books, recommendations, Uncategorized

Book Review- To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before

I have deviated from my initial list of 10 books I’ll read in 2018. We took a trip to the Library.. That’s really all that needs said. I read a book for this blind date thing the library is doing. They wrapped up several books in kraft paper, and put a little note on the front with a short synopsis of the story. If you read and review a book, you are entered to win a prize. I got this book. It was really good, but not something I’d typically read.

I also saw that To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before was finally in stock, so I snatched it up. Janssen has recommended it a lot. I mean A LOT. She loves it, and she has never once steered me wrong before. Here is her review.

This book is Young Adult fiction. What I love about young adult chick lit is that it’s typically not trashy. I’m not a fan of romance novels. I’m not a fan of books that make me feel like I need to take a hot shower after to wash away the filth. Just HEARING about 50 shades makes me want to take a shower and cry for anyone who thinks that is romance.

Lara Jean is a teenager whose mother passed away when she was young. She has two sisters, and is the middle child. Her older sister, Margot, goes off to college, which leaves her “in charge” of many of the motherly duties.

She has written letters to every boy she has ever loved over the course of time. They are essentially goodbye letters when she no longer loves them. One day, her letters are mysteriously mailed out to these boys. It makes her life a whole lot more interesting as the boys who receive these letters confront her. Some reveal that they liked her also. Some still do.

I don’t want to give away a lot of the story, because that is where the fun is.

I know a lot of people roll their eyes at teen love stories. Me? I married my high school sweetheart. I found myself literally smiling through much of the book because it made me think of the time spent dating Scott. Lara Jean’s curfew is 1 AM though, and mine was 10 PM. haha!

This really is a delightful story. I finished reading the book in two days. As soon as Scott got home from work, I went to the library to check out the second in the series. I was seriously disappointed when it was already checked out. I grabbed the third one and read it in less than 24 hours. Now, I wait for my hold on P.S. I Still Love You to come in. Though, I really should just buy them all at some point, because I want to read them over and over again!

If you are looking for a fun read, I cannot recommend this book enough.

A move is currently being made, too!! My image of Margot looking like Sadness from Inside Out is going to be ruined..which will be a good thing!

I have read 5 books so far this year. I just started Girl, Wash your Face today and am ready to be blown away with inspiration.

What are some good books that you have read lately?

ANOTHERSIGNATURE

4 thoughts on “Book Review- To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before”

      1. I agree.. I’m both excited and worried because the lines can be cheesy enough in the book but still likable… but when delivered in a movie the whole story could be just… too cheesy. I don’t know. I just hope it’s refreshing and cute enough without being too much xD

        Like

Leave a comment